The Ideal Wife

The ideal wife? No, I’m not one by a long shot. I used this title because after reading the passages in Proverbs ch.31 regarding wifely duties, I overcome the last obstacle I had to wanting to start my own business – would I be venturing into the sphere of my husband’s responsibility?

Here’s what the Bible has to say, and what I realized as I read it:

“She picks out a field to purchase; out of her earnings she plants a vineyard,” (Pr. 31:16-17)
So, it’s OK if I make some important decisions…

“She enjoys the success of her dealings; at night her lamp is not dimmed…” (verse 18)
I must endeavour to pay my electricity bill on time…

“She reaches out her hands to the poor, and extends her arms to the needy” (verse 20)
I must never forget those less fortunate than myself…

“She makes garments and sells them, and stocks the merchants with belts” (verse 24)
I could be a retailer!

“She watches the conduct of her household, and eats not her food in idleness” (verse 27)
But, work mustn’t interfere with the running of my home.

Yes, charity begins there, alright –
I have a little grandson needing attention and a tired daughter needing a break – more tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

